Tags

, , , ,

File:Otoyomegatari volume 1 cover.jpg

I’m in the middle of Kaoru Mori’s latest manga series, A Bride’s Story (Otoyomegatari), and so far I love it.  Set in Central Asia in the early late 19th century, it tells the story of the new bride Amir Halgal who is married to Karluk Eihon who happens to be 8 years younger (she’s 20 and he’s 12).  Once you get over the initial creepiness of that plot detail and the general strangeness of the subject matter, the rest of the manga is so fun and interesting.  Even the whole chapter devoted to wood carving.

Only 2 translated volumes have been released in the US so far (in very nice hardback editions, actually – thank you, YenPress), and I am eagerly awaiting the third volume which is set to be released in March.  I hope she has more stories with Azel, Amir’s older brother – he’s one of my favorite characters.

If you have been fortunate enough to read Mori’s earlier manga series, Emma, you will know what to expect from this story – incredibly detailed drawings, meticulous attention to historical facts, and wonderful storytelling.  I didn’t really “get” Mori at first, but now I am a total convert.  As I should be, no?

 

