Tags

, , , , , , ,

おおかみこどもの雨と雪

The Wolf Children Ame and Yuki (Okami Kodomo no Ame no Yuki) is the highly anticipated (by me, that is) new film from acclaimed director Mamoru Hosoda.  It is slated for a July 21, 2012 release in Japan, so I have a while to wait for the US release.  But for a Hosoda film I can be patient. 

This new movie is about a 19-year-old college student, Hana, who meets, falls in love with, and marries a “wolf man.”  They have two children, a girl Yuki (so named because she was born on a snowy day – yuki = snow), and a boy Ame (so names because he was born on a rainy day – ame = rain).  When her husband dies, she moves with her family to a rural town.

Hosoda has made two other major films, The Girl Who Leapt through Time (Toki o Kakeru Shojo – 2006) and Summer Wars (Sama Wozu – 2009), and I loved them both, The Girl Who Leapt through Time being one of my all-time favorite films ever.  The heroine actually goes back in time to eat pudding – a girl after my own heart.    

I had heard that Hosoda was supposed to have directed the Ghibli film Howl’s Moving Castle (Hauru no Ugoku Shiro) but that fell through.  What a shame – I know that he could have made that a way better movie since he deals with romance so much better than Miyazaki.  I wonder whether Hosoda will be three for three with this new movie, but I guess I’ll just have to wait.  And wait.  Sigh. 

 

 

